ControlLogix vs Quantum PLCs

R

Ryno83

Hey All,

We are currently looking at a path for which we should start upgrading our PLCs on our site. We currently have AB PLC5s a few old TI305 and some other TI stuff.

We are trying to work out which way would be best for us between ControlLogix and Quantum. If anyone has any pros and cons between the two that they could share it would be much appreciated.

A

aggattapauer

In my opinion you should upgrade the PLC 5, of course, with ControlLogix 5000 and TI with Schneider PLC. Naturally, Quantum or Premium or M340 depend on the size of TI to be upgraded.

To me it is better to have both PLC's brand even if I prefer Modicon at all.

It's difficult to list all points for which you should prefer Schneider to Rockwell.

What your doubts are? What your priorities?

Redundancy?
Field bus connections?
Communication with other systems?
Software interface?
Price?

J

James Ingraham

As a machine builder, I would no-quote a job if asked to use Quantum. If I were spec'ing machinery for in house use, I would not accept equipment containing a Quantum (or other Schneider/Modicon PLC). See my comments on their software at this previous control.com thread: http://www.control.com/thread/1026232542#1026250317

The only scenario under which I can see choosing Quantum is if you already have a lot of Modicon PLCs. Your site apparently doesn't. The upgrade path for PLC-5 is ControlLogix. The upgrade path for TI is Siemens. I don't really like Siemens' software either, but at least it doesn't take a Ph.D. in game theory to determine which software product to order.

Bear in mind that the Quantum PLC is nearly as out of date as the PLC-5. The M340 PAC is the new guy on the block. I think. Hard to tell from Telemecanique's website. And where does Premium fit in?