Converting an integer to a timer value in Step7

M

Martin van Malten

Hi all, I just found this homepage when I was looking for answer to my problem, or rather challenge, I am facing right now:

I want to be able to change a timer value in an S7-315 PLC, using a TP270 Touch Panel (Siemens).
I'm pretty new to Siemens and all I could find so far is entering a word or bit or whatever, and the TP writes it in a DB. Now a timer needs a value in this format: S5T#aaSbbMS.
How can I convert an integer to this format?
Thanks in advance.

D

Dobrowolski, Jacek

Hi Martin,

You have two ways (I know of):

1) store your value as TIME type and convert it with the FC40 TIM_S5TI
(you can find it in the IEC Function Blocks),
2) find description of the S5TIME type and convert your value into it
(and have fun).

Regards,
Jacek Dobrowolski, Ms. Sc. E. E.
Software Engineer

Martin,

There are several different ways of handling this.

Firstly, the S5Timer format you refer to is really a hangover in S7 from S5 PLCs. It was deliberately included in order to provide compatibility and familiarity for existing S5 users when S7 was launched. Since the basic concept of the S5Timer goes back 20 years or more, it is an entirely proprietary format which uses the top nibble of the word to identify one of 3 time-bases, and the remaining 3 nibbles to identify the magnitude of the timer in BCD format. The overall duration is then the product of both the time-base and the magnitude.

The S7 system was designed to comply with the then emerging IEC61131-3 programming standard from the outset. This meant that a new data type named TIME was included, plus 3 standardised Function Blocks, all in accordance with IEC1131. You'll find them in the STEP7 Standard Library \ System Function Blocks. They are SFBs 3, 4 and 5.