Converting Logix Ladder Logic to Step 7

T

Tim

I am a newbie with PLCs in general. I have just created a program using A-B Logix software and now I am informed that I need to convert it to Siemens Step 7 because the PLC I have been given is a Siemens S7-200. I have a number of latch instructions in the A-B software and I can not seem to find any instruction that is compatible in the Step 7 software. The rest of the program I have managed to convert but it just will not work without the latches included. Could someone please help me? Is there any such thing as a latch in the Step 7 software?

Thank you.

T

Trevor Ousey \(lists\)

Tim,

The -(S) instruction is the same as a (OTL) and the -(R) is the same as a (OUT).

Regards, Trevor

M

Michael Griffin

Set (S) = latch. Reset (R) = unlatch. This is common terminology with many brands of PLC.

D
Look in the tree under "Bit Logic". You should see two blocks, "SR" and "RS". They are "Set Reset" and "Reset Set". They might do what you need.

D

DAVE FERGUSON

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah, but with all latches and unlatches, sets and resets, the key is safety... What does this particular processor do when the
processor loses and restores power?

AB PLC5, for instance, retains them so you need to write a start-up routine.

Be careful.

Dave

M

Michael Griffin

In reply to DAVE FERGUSON: Siemens S7-200 memory is retentive as well. Memory is held for about a week with a supercap, or you can install a battery. Program memory is in EEPROM. Data can be saved to EEPROM under program control. A small range of flags (M) can be configured to be automatically saved to EEPROM on loss of power (the supercap presumably provides the power for this). If you wish to have a special start-up routine, there are special memory bits (SM) for this.