Coriolis Flow Meter repeated calibration

N

Norman Baldonado

We have been calibrating and changing meter factors in our coriolis flowmeter for HFO and LPG in our refinery. However, after some time of custody transfer, we experience more than 1% variance in the accuracy of our meters. Then we go back to calibration again and changing meter factors but the same situation occurs. What are other possible concerns that we should look at in order to properly address this recurring situation? What are tests that we should conduct to somehow determine the root cause of this?

I'm no expert on Coriolis meters, and haven't been around many new installations. A number of older applications that I have seen used flexible connections to the meter inlet and outlet, to reduce mechanical strain on the meter, and to reduce the transmission of piping/structure vibration to the meter. I have also seen installations with rubber feet serving as vibration isolation mounts.

Good luck.

Do we assume the manufacturer has been unable to assist?

We have two options:

1) Is it a meter problem such that irrespective of the fluid, the calibration drifts. In that case, what is the history.... has it always been this way or it is a recent phenomena,; has it been progressive or did it just happen one day?

2) Is it an application problem such that if the meter is calibrated for LPG and then you change to HFO you discover a drift? LPG and HFO are quite dissimilar fluids and it is possible that some factor relating to the fluid or the process equipment related to that fluid alone is causing the problem.

Early coriolis meters had a number of sensitivities that needed to be considered. These included

a) vulnerability to noise where low frequency operating meters could be sensitive to pipe borne noise and to interference from other mass meters; meters that operate at a higher frequency are less suceptible since the noise at that frequency tends to attenuate more the further away from the source.