Correct Cable for PT-100

T

theSiemExpert

hello,

i am an student and need to connect a pt-100. now is my question what is the best way to do it? a 2 cable connection or a 3 cable connection?

[email protected]

theSiemexpert,

"Cables" are generally considered to be multi-conductor groups of conductors (wires).

RTDs can be two-wire, three-wire or four-wire devices. Meaning they can generally be connected to the monitoring device using two, three or four wires. The number of wires is usually determined by the monitoring device capabilities.

More wires means a more accurate reading, so the degree of accuracy required by the process will also play a role in choosing the number of wires to use when connecting the RTD to the monitoring device.

One should ALWAYS use twisted, shielded cables (two-wire; three-wire) and pay attention to the proper grounding of the shield drain wire to prevent induced voltages from affecting the accuracy/stability of the reading. Maintaining proper segregation from other high voltage/high current wires/cables is also very important, especially in industrial environments.

www.omega.com has excellent descriptions of all manner of sensors and instruments which are very informative and helpful.

Hope this helps!

A 2 wire RTD will ALWAYS have some offset error due to the resistance of the copper connection wire. The longer the wire, the higher the resistance, the larger the error.

For practical purposes, that error can be eliminated with a 3 wire RTD.

Get a 3 wire RTD and use the 3rd wire. The 3rd wire has to be the same length and gauge (thickness) as the primary two wires in order for the compensation to work properly.

Sir i would like to ask that as u've said

> RTDs can be two-wire, three-wire or four-wire devices. Meaning they can generally be connected
> to the monitoring device using two, three or four wires. The number of wires is usually
> determined by the monitoring device capabilities.