Evaporative Cooler On/Off Linked to IGV Angle in GE 7FA

P

Power13031978

I'm an shift engineer working in GE 7FA power plant.

Why start permissive of Evaporative coolers is linked to IGV angle of 70 degrees and above in GE frame 7FA?

There are probably several reasons. The reason(s) may be listed/described in either or both of the System Description in the Operations and Service Manuals and/or the Control Specification (probably Sect. 06).

My best guess is that Inlet Bleed Heat starts operating as the IGVs close below 70 DGA during unloading, and ceases operation not too long before reaching 70 DGA when loading.

Also, evaporative cooling increases mass flow at low IGV angles, and this could result in the compressor approaching or exceeding its operating limit and protection.

Evaporative cooling is most effective when the air flow across the media is high. Low air flows can result in carryover due to low evaporation rates at low air flows. It's entirely false that evaporative coolers are "self-regulating"--but they do require less manual adjustment when operated at or near Base Load most of the time. But, plant managers being beholden to the owner who is always trying to maximize revenue and reduce fuel cost are always dreaming up new schemes to increase power output even though some really negatively impact heat rate at part load and really are only truly effective at Base Load--the definition of which includes the IGVs being at maximum operating angle.

There used to an ambient temperature permissive below which evaporative cooler operation was not permitted, but many plants routinely bypass or defeat this permissive even though evaporation rates decrease as ambient temperature decreases....

And, there used to be a permissive that only allowed operation when at Bsse Load, which was also routinely bypassed/defeated.