Flame Detection and Monitoring

M

Maythem

Hi,

i am a shift engineer of a FR9E gas turbine-simple cycle. I've been asked to write an article to get promoted and i was thinking to write about how to eliminate flame scanners and replace the controlling to be with just exhaust thermocouples.

i need help to set the guidelines for my article. can we set some rung to come with the result of (flame established) by using the temperature change in exhaust thermocouples during firing time?

i was thinking of delta temp. versus time but i need values to be true and practical.

what about flame out (or fail to ignite)? is it possible to be controlled without flame scanners? how? combustion monitoring is already done by logic and no need to manipulate any rung (i guess) so, what i actually need is a complete picture of flame approval/ flame out without using flame scanners.

S
That sounds like a bad idea to me. Typical UV flame scanners will produce an FFRT (flame fail response time) of maybe half a second to 2 or 3 seconds, and can be self-checking besides. I don't think you'll be able to get that kind of performance measuring exhaust temp, and your system will be less safe.

Agreed; the concept here is a bad idea for several reasons--though I will add that as we speak work is being done to eliminate the use of UV flame detectors on combustion turbines through the combined use of axial compressor discharge pressure monitoring and exhaust temperature monitoring. The concepts presented here are much too simplistic and do not take into account load rejections (sudden loss of load) or start-up/shutdown conditions, as well as some time-delay on loss of flame that, as noted, is inherent in most flame detection systems.

Also, with some Dry Low NOx (DLN) combustion systems, there is no UV flame present in some areas of the combustor(s) yet there is still combustion (my definition of combustion being a temperature increase not necessarily in conjunction with UV flame).