Fuel control systems for industrial gas turbines

B

Bob

Hi,

This is my first post here. I'm hoping someone can help me.

I am a student studying gas turbine engines. I am currently undertaking an assignment where I have to write a paper on "Fuel control systems for industrial gas turbines".

I am having trouble locating quality information on my subject matter. Is there anyone that could recommend any good books/ websites?

Within the paper I have to cover working theories, evolution of the system, performance, configuration, applications and future development.

Please bear in mind I am a student and would only need the basics and fundamentals.

Thanks,
Bob

Hello,

You should include the term 'governor' in your searches, because that was the most common term for turbine control systems for decades, beginning with the fly-ball governors of yore.

This is something of a difficult topic, but not an impossible one. I suggest you research texts and handbooks, such as 'Power Generation Handbook', published by McGraw-Hill Handbooks, and other such reference materials.

Another possible source of information is Woodward Governor Co. They publish some pretty decent manuals for their equipment which sometimes contain gems of information about topics such as droop speed control or isochronous speed control.

I frequently use Amazon.com and other on-line booksellers when looking for texts and references. One site I discovered from posts here on control.com, alibris.com, has proven very beneficial as it many used books available for very low prices (sometimes the shipping costs more than the book!). These sites are easy to search, and don't forget to expand your search term(s) as you find more relevant information during your searches.

You may find some of these volumes in the library at your school (depending on the level of technical depth of the library; by the way, where are attending school?).