Gas Turbine Weekly Reports

R

Ryan

I am a recent mechanical engineer graduate and I am lucky enough to find myself employed. I have been awarded the task of developing a weekly performance report for a 1MW Stationary Gas Turbine (strictly used for electrical generation). I am new to developing reports. What all should I place in the report? I was thinking of mostly including graphs such as Exhaust Temperature versus load. I am not sure of what include or what graphs to include. I could really use any help you all can provide me.

B

bob peterson

To me a performance report is all about performance. I would be looking at things like:

fuel usage
up time vs. down time
power generated

--
Bob

Bob Peterson, is, as usual, 100% correct. You would do well to understand what factors affect GT performance, and then what instrumentation is present on the machine at your site that can be used to reflect or calculate performance. Heat rate is one factor, but not every machine has the instrumentation to accurately calculate heat rate. Having said that, one can still establish a formula and calculation method, and then trend the calculated heat rate over time to determine if performance is decreasing and by how much.

Some turbines monitor axial compressor discharge pressure, which is a good indicator of performance. A dirty compressor will not flow as much air as a clean compressor--at the same ambient conditions. And GTs are "mass flow" machines, so lower air flows mean lower performance (efficiency and output). So, some times it's necessary to correct operating conditions to some reference value to compare apples to apples. Some GT manufacturers have graphs and formulae to do this; some don't.

Some turbines monitor turbine inlet temperature for control (as well as protection) and this can be a good indicator of performance. Some monitor turbine exhaust temperature for control and protection.