General PLC Implementation to Boiler Information

S

Student1

Hello,

I'm a current technology student doing a project for my school. Because of the thousands of sources out there, I just wondered if anyone here can help me since people here are from industry.

My objective is to implement a PLC to a hypothetical boiler.

The PLC I've chosen is Allen Bradley and the the program is RSLogix.

I just have some general questions for my research.

1. Can all boilers be implemented with PLC?

2. How does a PLC control a boiler? What is the process? I have worked with PLC before, but I just can't wrap my head around it. Do boilers have input and output terminals like a motor connected to a plc?

3. Do all boilers work the same? I need to select a boiler and I've researched that there are different pressures they operate on. Will these affect the PLC implementation? I've narrowed down a manufacturer though, Hurst.

If possible, you may also include your name and occupation so I may use you as a reference. (Citation is a big thing for me)

Thank you

I
Hello Student1,

Here are my answers

> The PLC I've chosen is Allen Bradley and the the program is RSLogix.
I'm familiar with RSLogix implementation to Boiler/steam generator application

> 1. Can all boilers be implemented with PLC?
Definitely, PLC can be implemented for control to all types of Boiler

> 2. How does a PLC control a boiler? What is the process? I have
> worked with PLC before, but I just can't wrap my head around it. Do
> boilers have input and output terminals like a motor connected to a plc?

In my opinion, basically there are 4 major section on the boiler control system:

- Combustion control: control air-fuel ration for boiler firing

- Buner Mangament Control: Boiler safety system for startup, shutdown and monitoring of combustion process

- Boiler Drum level control: provide control to maintain drum level under operating conditions