General questions about PLCs

S

Steven

Just a general question about PLCs. As an engineering student I had experienced programming microcontrollers. I would assume that it is quite similar with PLCs, except that it is usually done in ladder logic.

As in any programming, practice will often lead to a more understanding of the certain microcontroller, as to how it will facilitate in solving our problem. In the market, there are so many PLC products available. However, how would everyone actually be able to learn so many types of PLCs? Would anyone out there, as an experienced person, think that knowing a lot of PLCs is important? If any PLCs are programmed the same way, why would there be so many problems waiting for answers?

Thank you.

M
Hello,

In my experience all plc's in principle operate in the same way. For instance we read the input mask, execute the program line by line according to the program structure and then we write the output mask.

Programming plc's facilitate the use of higher level languages (the programming software)which may use different terms and functions to come up with the same result from one plc to another. In the same way there are different methods in C++ or Pascal to program the same function in a microprocessor.

In essence what I am trying to say is that as long as the principle of operation of a PLC is understood (eg to have indepth knowlege of a particular brand like Siemens S7)then to swap from one brand to another, after the initial teething problems, is a transition and not a whole new learning process.

Y

Yosef Feigenbaum

I feel that the major issue is not the lack of standardization across vendors (which is a problem) rather that there are so many different types of people programming PLCs.

Many of the questions regarding PLC programming result from lack of experience. Either programming inexperience (ie. electrician) or automation inexperience (ie. professional programmer).