Heidenhain ERO 120 encoder technical alignment specs and procedure

P

Paul L.

I am an electronics tech seeking info including technical alignment specs and procedure for A Heidenhain "ERO 120" rotory encoder that came stock on Bridgeport Boss8 and 9 CNC mills (mid 1980's) fitted with SEM servo motors. (It seems this info is secretly guarded by who knows what? Who knows where?) Links or any direct info would be greatly appriciated.

SINCERELY Paul L.

I am assuming that these motors are commutated by the encoders? If so, then you probably will not find what you are looking for. Who makes the motors? Do you have a complete description? The reason it is so difficult is that if the commutation/ parameterization software was available to anyone then the manufacturer would lose business because anyone could repair their motors.

I work in a servo motor repair shop and have just had an incremental encoder in on a S.E.M. d.c. motor which I have just ordered a new one from Heidenhain and who will give you the pin out detail. But if yours is an ac servo motor then the commutation signals are the ones you need and their alignment to the stator windings which you can always find if you know the power up terminals. But this is assuming that the encoder is good in the first place. Normal day in a servo shop is trying to find out info from under license controls. But Heidenhain own SEM now so try them. They all want to sell products.

Tom, my SEM unit is DC. More spacifically the motor tag reads...TYPE MT 30R4-33 S/N k98024...CONT STALL TORQUE 3.2 MN TENV...MAX RPM 4000...VOLTS 132...PULSE AMPS 65...TACHO 9.5V/1000 RPM...INSUL F...k83-4016..."PERM MAGNET DC SERVOMOTOR".

I have replaced the encoder lamp, (light source)
and in doing so have upset the alignment of the
adjustable apperature template between the lamp and the chopper wheel, and the placement of the