Help! Which temperature sensor should I use with my PLC?

A

Alan K

Hello all!

Small issue on my road to control instrumentation knowledge.

I need to know what temperature sensor/assembly to use with my FL1D-H12RCC IDEC nano-PLC (Siemens rebadge, I believe).

Input is 0-10V analog PNP. I need to measure the temperature of the air right near the PLC - maybe two feet away inside a small enclosure (terrarium). There is a large 200W fluorescent bulb with attached ballast about two feet from the point of measurement, I don't know if that qualifies as a source of interference.

The overall application is maintaining an air temperature ceiling of 24 degrees celsius, via PLC/contactor activated vent fan. The lamp heats things up a bit, as does the heat pad. I keep reptiles.

I'm kind of new to this stuff. Should I direct wire, use a thermocoupling with some sort of amplifier? Should I use a temperature transmitter? Is there some device I am unaware of that is ideal for this? I'd like to spend as little money as possible.

Thanks for any help, and if I'm missing anything in my description, feel free to ask, I'll reply promptly.

-Alan

C

curt wuollet

Well you can go from $1 to $1000 easily. Most suggestions here will be towards the latter. I suggest you attach a LM35 temperature sensor. It works from 24 V and puts out a linear 10mV/degree C voltage, and it's very simple to use. You should be able to find one from 69 cents to $10 depending on grade and greed. The diagrams are free on the National Semiconductor site and it will easily do what you want with good accuracy. You could also just use a thermistor, but then you have to solve a matrix to linearize it or use a lookup table. The LM35 is a lot easier.

Regards
cww

cww, thanks! So far I've been looking at thermocouples with transmitters, but this seems rather cheaper. This thing needs no intermediate signal conditioner, then? Crikey!

C

curt wuollet