How can I be a control nerd anyway?

A

Automator

I am studying Electrical Engg. @Bangladesh Univ. of Engg. & Technology... Im a sophomore now... and in a short while Im going to be a junior student.

I want to be a control expert and I want to begin study from now on... could anybody kindly suggest me how to begin???

For information... its noteworthy that I've studied Laplace Transform and Differential Equations and Matrices.

Plz Help me!!

Automator

J

James Ingraham

> I want to be a control expert and I want to
>begin study from now on... could anybody kindly
>suggest me how to begin???

I hate to break this to you, but that is not the way to think about this. The only way to become a controls expert is to actually do it; studying Laplace Transforms will not help you.

For the most part, controls engineers do not deal with the math going on behind the scenes on a daily basis. Yes, it helps to understand it. Yes, every once in a while you get problem where you dust off your Diff'eq skills. Most days, though, you just throw in a PID block and play with the numbers until they are roughly tuned.

This brings up another problem; there are lots of different kinds of controls. It would be difficult to be an expert on motion control, discrete control, temperature control, plant control, building control, and pipeline control. There are some overlapping fundamentals, but there's just not enough time in the day to become an expert in all of them.

The next problem is that you can only learn by doing. Sit in your dorm room and play with PLCs from dawn till dusk; you still won't be an expert. What makes an expert is experience. You will not graduate college as a controls expert. You will not be a controls expert after 2 years on the job.