How Do I Hold the Output States When Downloading to an RSLogix 5000 PLC?

H

Hank

How painful will it be to have to remember to reset the Program Mode state of each output to Hold Last State each time you download to the PLC and then back to Safe State? Our company uses a VPN to change programs on PLCs out in the field. I'm trying to prevent undesirable actions when going back to run mode. Yes, I'm a novice of AB. Call me a JEEP! Just enough education to pass!

R
Don't feel bad, I have been working with PLCs since early 80s. I was very surprised when I saved my AB configuration while the plant was running and it started up by itself when I downloaded some changes. This seems downright dangerous. I'm sure there's a simple remedy that the AB gurus will share with us, perhaps something in the startup routine. In the meantime save your configuration while stopped.

Regards
Roy

That is a very common result when you make a minor on-line change while in operation. Typically I use the first scan bit (S:1/15 in the PLC-5) to preset bits/words to a known start-up condition which is scanned first in the logic. Just put the preset conditions in a separate file and call it in the first rung of the MAIN routine conditioned with the first scan bit. That way it only is scanned once and won't take time away from the scan rate.

Everybody who has been at this game for more than a year or two has seen this. Once burned, you tend to figure out how to not have it happen again. The more damage/higher level plant management watching, the more detailed you get concerning not letting it happen again.

Regards,
Russ Kinner
SSOE, Inc.
Phoenix, AZ USA

R
Russ,
Thanks for the response, do you mind elaborating a little on what you do. Do you just set all the Inputs to Zero or do you have to switch things like controllers to manual, timer accumulators to zero.

As I said I have been working with PLCs for a long time but it came as a surprise to me.