How Much Should I Worry about Jerk

I am not a controls engineer.
I have written a motion controller for a 2 axis commercial actuator.

The controller must respond to two unpredictable user inputs:
DriveOpenLoop(v1, v2)
DriveClosedLoop(x1, x2, v1, v2)

The user-inputs come in via serial at 9600 baud, which is pretty slow.
The speed is not expected to be highly precise, and is never measured with any precision.
The system is very highly mechanically damped
The motors are steppers
The control output is a PWM output through this driver to the stepper motor.

The open loop controller does this
  1. Load target speed
  2. Clamp acceleration
  3. Write set speed to PWM out
  4. Try again on every loop until you reach the target speed
  5. Deal with cyclic position and position limits
This is entirely open loop and it works great

The closed loop controller does this
  1. Load set point
  2. Deal with cyclic position
  3. Calculate error
  4. Multiply by proportional gain to get set speed
  5. Clamp velocity
  6. Clamp acceleration
  7. Write set speed to PWM out
  8. Deal with user position limits
This also works great. It produces a more or less trapezoidal or triangular velocity profile depending on distance with an up slope set by acceleration and a down slope set by the lesser of the proportional gain or the acceleration limit. It goes right to the set point, never bounces around (it has synchronous motors and is heavily mechanically damped). It was incredibly easy to tune. It is also tested and proven.

So everything is great, but I'm going to be making a new system and there is a chance to try to get better.

Question 1:
Should I be clamping jerk?