How people can help! (was: Where are we?)

• Thread starter Campbell, David (Ex AS17)
  • Start date
C

Campbell, David (Ex AS17)

To all would be coders,

There appears to be a number of people on this list who have the following skills:
a) Average programming skills, mostly at device level
b) Interest in PLC devices
c) Specific areas of interest in industrial control and automation

If the above list describes you then you could make a significant contribution to the Puffin/LPLC project(s).

Here is the proof...

My background is Chemical Engineering (I was taught Fortran at University, I learnt "C" as a hobby). While I was writing my thesis I bought a parallel port ZIP drive as a floppy disk was not big enough to carry the files between university and home.

I found that there was a ZIP driver for Linux but the transfer rate was extremely slow, there was an experimental driver but that was unstable. I kludged around the source code for the two drivers and eventually made it more stable and reliable.

While this development work was underway there were a couple of "hot headed" computer science students (they have since graduated and found paying day jobs) discussing the theoretical method of sharing a parallel port. This went on for several days (about 10-15 emails/day to the parallel port devices list) before I asked them
either to write a header file of the routines required or to go elsewhere.

One of the two people quickly hammered out a two page header file with a rough description of what each function should do. After two days (it was a weekend) I had the first pass of the "parbus" (early version of the parport code) working which allowed the ZIP drive to be used with a printer attached to the pass through port. The code very quickly evolved into what we see today (approx 4 weeks).