How to become professional engineer?

T

the2

I hold a Bachelor's degree in Engineering from China. Now I am working in Australia as an electrical engineer. How can I become a professional engineer in the USA? What tests should I take?

R
In the US, each state administers the Professional Engineering licensing for that state. In my case I am registered in Ohio and Arizona, each license requires a separate renewal and that I meet slightly different standards.

An example, AZ renewal is for a 3 year term at $42/yr.($126 for 3 years) while Ohio renews annually at $20/yr. I was initially licensed in Ohio so Arizona accepted that license (a legal term known as Comity).

In addition, a statement from the Ohio board that I had no complaints and was in good standing and a transcript from my University had to be submitted. No additional testing was required for Arizona.

Unless you already have a license that is recognized by a state, you would need to take their exams. These are given typically 2 times/year depending on the specific state. There are fees for the exam itself and application fees additionally that can run several hundred dollars.

For more info. contact:

NCEES at P.O. Box 1686, Clemson, S.C. 29633-1686 (study guides)
- or -
the National Society of Professional Engineers at:
http://www.nspe.org/index.html

It will take a while and you may need to jump through additional hoops not being a US Citizen. I'd plan on 2 years along with at least 2 trips to the US to take the exams. It won't be easy...

Russ

Thank you for your answer.

I went to the website you gave me. But to my surprise, some courses are out of electrical engineering scope, such as fluid mechanics, material properties, thermodynamics.

R