how to choose a PLC to process4-20mA analog sigal?

K

k

Hi,
I am new to this industry. I am doing a porject which requires a PLC to process a 4-20mA pressure sensor signal and 4-20mA/PT100 signal from temp. sensor. Can any body tell me, Is there any PLC that accepts Analog input 4-20mA ? please guide me to choose a PLC.

Thanks
[email protected]

D

DAVE FERGUSON

Virtually all of the major ones [PLCs] have analog input and output cards available.

Dave Ferguson
Control Systems Engineer

Hello k;
I don't know of any PLC that does not acept 4-20 mA signals. These are industry-standard signals used to link sensors and transmitters to a processing unit (CPU).

The next question is: what do you need to do with these signals once you have read them and scaled them in your PLC? This will become a more important question to help you select your PLC.

Do you need to display the value of these temperature/pressure signals, on an operator screen or on some sort of 7-segment display?
Will you generate alarm signals if they exceed certain values that will control part of a process? Will you need to log and trend these values?

Most low-cost Smart Relays (LOGO! from Siemens, Durus from GE, EASY from Moeller etc...) could handle analog inputs, scale them and control for example pilot lights for alarming.

All brick PLCs (S7-200 by Siemens, Micrologix from Rockwell, and many others) and higher-level PLCs can handle the analog inputs, plus communicate with operator panels/PCs to log, trend, alarm, and do the process control part.

So please define with more accuracy the project you have so we can help you out more precisely.

Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier

Hello daniel,

Many thanks for the prompt information. Yes exactly i want. Choose a PLC and i want to do following tasks with the chosen PLC.

My requirements:

1. It should accept 2 Analog inputs.