How to connect a Modbus slave device to PC when its address is unknown

H

Hafeezullah

I need to connect a Modbus RS485 Multifunction Instrument to PC, but unfortunately I don't have its user manual. My question is how I can make it talk to PC if I don't know its address or about its registers. The device is "Ziegler mfm 3440 Multifunction Instrument" which can measure up to 18 Electrical parameters like energy, power, voltage, current etc. I am new to Modbus, Please if someone reply me I shall be very thankful. waiting for replies......Thank you all

B

bob peterson

Have you considered downloading a manual for this instrument? or contacting whoever sold it to you?

--
Bob

You could use a free software tool (ModbusMat by example). It is having an "automatic search" option that will find for you the Modbus ID's on the network. After that you could add an interval of holding registers (1-40 by example) and you will see the voltage that you already know on which register is.

You must also use a Modbus Converter (rs485 to rs232) between the "instrument" and your PC. If your convertor is having rs232 interface you will also need an rs232 to usb adapter (in the case that your PC is not having serial port).

You must also check the baud rate of your connection.

If you have problems please let me know.

best regards,
Alin

M

meyyappan.an

There is modbus test software available freely in internets. try with that. Your thread need to be little more expressive.

J

Julie in Austin

FTDI makes some nice wire-end terminated USB to RS485 adapters. They are about $30 in quantity 1 from Mouser and come in a number of reasonable lengths. I buy the 1.8 meter (6', more or less) variety, and that's the price I quoted.

H
> There is modbus test software available freely in internets. try with that. Your
> thread need to be little more expressive.