Increasing Power in Synchronous Generator

H

Hothifah

I am an electrical engineer and I am still fresh. I am studying the Steam turbine Generator and I have an STG connected to a grid (60 Hz,34.5 KV). the output STG power is 26 MW I need to increase it to 31.2 MW. I need to focus into generator side not prime mover. The question:

1- What is the primary step I should do?

2- What graph should I study (Capability curve, v/f .. etc)?

3- How can I know what is the maximum Active power?

4- What is the logic and control that prevent the generator to feed more?

I appreciate your help..

Regards,

Hothifah,

1) First, you need to understand that generators are electrical machines that convert torque from the prime mover (steam turbine in your example) into amperes, just like (electric) motors are electrical machines that convert amperes into torque to pump water or lift people/goods in a lift (elevator), or move air using a fan. There's no knob or switch directly connected to the motor that can change the motor's output (torque)--that has to be done by changing the load on the motor (increasing the amount of water being moved by the pump being driven by the motor; increasing the number of people in the car of a lift (elevator) being moved by the electric motor; increasing the amount of air being moved by the fan driven by the motor; etc.). Electric generators drive electric motors by the amperes flowing in the wires that connect the generators to the motors--but the actual work that's done by the motor is really done by the prime mover driving the generator. The torque that's being produced by the electric motor actually comes from the torque that's input to the generator. Both the electric motor and the electric generator are really "dumb" devices--they don't have "governors."

So, you can't divorce (separate) the prime mover from the generator when considering how to increase the amount of power produced by the generator. The formula for electric power is: