Induction generators for steam turbine application

S

SolarforChange

Hello,
I am designing a solar trough power plant that would output 1.5MW to the grid. I am thinking of using an asynchronous(induction) generator and was hoping someone would explain to me some of the advantages an induction generator has in comparison to a synchronous generator.

I am familiar with the basic power generation process of the induction generator but I am not sure how a person would be able to assure a 60Hz frequency from the generator. Also, I have little knowledge on grid hookup and was hoping someone would be able to explain to me what components would be needed to assure correct hookup and safety of both my side of the plant and the grid's side.

Thank you very much
SolarforChange

SolarforChange... the frequency is determined by the "source" to which the Ind-Gen is connected. In your case, 60 Hz!

The speed of the steam-turbine driving the Ind-Gen is maintained at a rotational speed/frequency slightly higher than 60 Hz! An example follows:

If the Ind-Gen, as a motor, had a full-load slip of, say 3%, then as an Ind-Gen it must be driven at about 3% above 60 Hz or 61.8 Hz!

Major Advantage:
The Ind-Gen does not need an exciter, nor slip-rings, nor a voltage regulator. Furthermore, it will certainly reduce electrical power cost for your facility.

Major Disadvantage:
The "grid" to which it is connected must be able to supply the Ind-Gen's magnetic kVAr!

I have purposely excluded details covering connection with the utility. They can be horrendous depending on the utility's requirements. In most cases, you will paid a fraction of the price you normally pay for the consumption.

In closing, you will literally find many topics on the web!

Regards, Phil Corso

Phil Corso,

I was counting the number of exclamation points until I choked on this tidbit:

>The "grid" to which it is connected
>must be able to supply the Ind-Gen's
>magnetic kVAr!

<bSupply</b> VArs!?!?!?!?!!!!!???!!??!?!