Infi-90 BRC-400 Controller Programming

I

icebreakercan

Hi,

i'm new to the programming world... about a 1 1/2 years, and have a question that i believed was the case for that time. i was under the impression that once you compiled and online configured a block into a module, that there was no way you could add a new block in a space that was between two already programmed in that module. so... ex. block 10,000 has a FC30, block 10,002 has a FC30, and you wanted to add another FC30 in space 10,001.(all within the same segment, redundant controllers, BRC400's) The only way to do so was to do a load to controller, not an online config. Is this true?

Answer: TRUE

Yes you are correct - the only way you could add a block in the space (spare blocks) between assigned block numbers is with OFFLINE configuration - where both the primary and backup modules would be paced into configure mode and initialized.

If it absolutely necessary to use those spare blocks, you would most likely need to wait for a plant outage or downtime. If you were to perform offline configuration while the plant is running you would in nearly all cases stop that plant!!

However to add the block to the configuration with the plant ONLINE, is not difficult (providing you have spare blocks in your module), you would simply assign the new block (in your example) to block number: 10003, then do 'Online configuration...' with Composer.
I can only conjecture that your problem is that you do not have any spare blocks, thus need to do offline config?

If so, you would be well advised to re-number all the blocks, so you have plenty of spare blocks for future online config changes and don't get into the same difficulty again...

I

icebreakercan