JAW CLUTCH DISENGAGES AT 36% TNH

P

PRASAD DEVU

We are haveing 3no's GE Frame -III machines which are equipped with NT 855C diesel engine & Twin Disk Model: 4-SG-1607-2 torque convertor. The jaw clutch is getting disengaged at TNH of 36% speed. Diesel engine complete servicing was done. Torque convertor pressure checked & found to be 4.0 kg/cm2. Alignment between torque convertor output shaft & GT input shaft checked & found to be with in 0.12 mm radially & 0.15 mm axially which are with in tolerable limits. Still the clutch is getting disengaged at this speed. If we force the clutch disengagement limit switch signal machine going to FSNL, but with a bit slow acceleration. How to sort out the problem?

Do you know if the 4 Kg/cm2 is according to spec? I have no experience of this particular torque converter on a Frame 3 but, normally on Frame 5 & 6, it should be at least 6 Kg. Have you checked the foot valve and trash screen on the torque converter?

PRASAD DEVU,

Is this same problem occurring on all three of your GE-design Frame <b>3</b> heavy duty gas turbines--or just one of them?

When did this problem start? After a maintenance outage? After a trip from load?

I have been to several sites where the hydraulic actuators for the diesel speed control were not adjusted properly after the service--because generally diesel engine service technicians are NOT familiar with the type and number of actuators used on some GE-design heavy duty gas turbine diesel starting means. Sometimes, the solenoid operators fail or get dirty or stick partially open.

Lastly, I have seen plugged fuel filter pass just enough fuel to make rated speed during unloaded testing, but not enough to maintain rated speed under load (accelerating the turbine).