leak detection

P

PaulB11111111

We use water to cool electrodes in our glass furnace. The electrodes sometimes leak and have to be replaced. One of our first indicators is the amount of water treatment we add to the coolant.

We have 18 electrodes and it is difficult to establish which electrode is leaking. (it's no easy task to change the electrodes)

I would like to detect the flow in and out to alarm if there is a leak.
Is there such a thing as a differential flow switch / sensor I could use? Or are two separate sensors my only option? The cooling flow is between 5 an 10 gals per minute of R.O. water.

Thanks in advance

J

John Williams

I work in the automotive industry doing RSW (Resistance Spot Welding) and use a DELTAPOINT (Rocon water monitoring system). The welding equipment will shut down when insufficient chilled water flow is detected.

web site http://www.roconllc.com/

> I would like to detect the flow in and out to alarm if there is a leak. <

Yes DELTAPOINT will do this for you. Flow is measured in and out with two vortex shedding flowmeters (no paddle wheels to jam) and then compared.

> The cooling flow is between 5 an 10 gals per minute of R.O. water. <

Talk to Rocon to see what model will work for you.

John

Paul,

For flow measurement, I would recommend two Sensus SR flow meters equipped with ICE registers. The 5/8" size is rated for 1 to 20 GPM, so it should be the right size for your application. Here is a link to the Sensus meter...

http://na.sensus.com/Module/Catalog/File/water?id=24

Plus one EtherMeter, which is a device that my company manufactures. The EtherMeter is capable of reading one or two compatible flow meters and converting the totalization and flow rate data into Modbus or Rockwell communication protocols.

You would then configure a PLC to read the two flow rates from the EtherMeter via Modbus, DF1, or EtherNet/IP, calculate the flow difference, and alarm any detected difference that exceeds a pre-set threshold.