Liquid fuel change over.

A

a-w-p-d

Hi, I am fairly new to my plant ( CCGT 9FA GT ) and have been tasked with finding out the procedure for changing over fuels on load (from GAS to Distillate). All I can find in the manuals is the principles on how it works i.e.: How the bypass works, How the divider works and so on, But it does not say how to initiate a change over or what to look for when it is taking place.

I have been told that we would need to reduce load to do this but not how much. Is this true and why?

Any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

We'll presume that the liquid fuel system is "primed and ready for operation." The operator clicks on LIQ FUEL or DIST or whatever the liquid fuel button on the HMI says and the control system does the rest.

There's plenty to look for when operating on Liquid Fuel. GE has a new document on liquid fuel operation for heavy-duty gas turbines, GEK-111717. Contact GE for a copy; it has some excellent information for understanding how liquid fuel systems operate and what to look for. Remember: liquid fuel systems have many components, and many of them are *not* controlled or monitored directly by the Speedtronic turbine control system, and they must all work as designed/intended for the turbine to run properly on liquid fuel.

One of the keys to operating a turbine on liquid fuel when it's primarily operated on gas fuel, is to operate it periodically on liquid fuel to keep all those components in working order.

Thank you CSA for your reply.

I shall look into obtaining a copy of the said document on liquid fuel operation for heavy-duty gas turbines, GEK-111717.

However, would you have any insight into how one would initiate a distillate change over from Gas whilst on line?
Would I have to reduce Load and if so too what?
Can it be done whilst in remote or do would I select to auto?
Can it be done with the Steam Turbine on line or would we take the ST unit off?