MARK-V Test-Board (Usage of a Spare Part)

M

Marc5o

Hello Everybody,
I've just registered to this very interesting and highly informative "conrol.com"-Forum, because I have some questions to all you MARK-IV/V/VI-Professionals out there (for that I would call myself an absolute Beginner in the terms of MARK-V-Control-System).

As far as I know does the MARK-V (HMI)-Control-System (in this case for a LM2500+DLE-Engine) make use of an LBC586Plus-Board (which was declared obsolete last year) from Winsys as Central-Processing-Unit.

Now, can anybody tell me if there is a chance to set up a spare part of this board (we still have one in stock) as a stand alone test-/development-kit for the MARK-V System? What do I at least need to connect this single board to a separate HMI-Computer, compile and and load the Control-Sequence-Program and get it running? Would I be able to to make some changes to the program and watch the results? Would it be possible to examine the behavior of some of the so called "big blocks"?

The background for my request is not only to make myself familiar with the MARK-V-Control-System in a more safe and practical way, but to know for sure if our spare board would work properly if seriously needed (we have some doubts it would!).

I'm very looking forward to your reply...

Thanks and kind regards!

"Marc5o"

The Mark V LM panels are as similar to Mark V panels as Mercedes-Benz lorries are similar to Mercedes-Benz sedans. They can both transport people and goods using an internal combustion engine, a transmission, and a minimum of four wheels. The both have a steering wheel, and accelerator, and ignition switches. They both have headlights and brakes. And they both have the Mercedes-Benz badge, but the similarities just about end there. They're automobiles, made by the same manufacturer, but for very different purposes.