Mark V to MarkVIe Migration

M

Mousaab

Hi,

I am an Instrument engineer in oil & gas company. We using MarkV TMR for controlling Frame5 turbine drive a gas compressor.

GE forced us to get update the Speedtronic V Control System to Speedtronic VIe Control System, because the MarkV was obsolete and it will stop offering to us parts for Mark v unless doing the migration to Mark VIe.

Please tell me what are the important things to be considered for this as I am now in team responsible for this migration.

PS: I think we doing life extension migration. I'm not sure, but it's most likely

Thanks in advance

Hi,

It's projects like this that cause 'team' to be thought of as a four-letter word. (MANY "bad" words in the English language have only four letters....)

GE wants you to believe that there won't be any changes to the operation of the turbine and auxiliaries with the change to the Mark VIe-compatible system. BUT, there will be--and GE can't even tell you what all the changes will be. And therein lies the problem--you won't be able to anticipate or test any "improvements" because GE can't tell you what changes and improvements they will be making.

Read the second paragraph of this thread:

https://control.com/thread/1553456909