ML1400 to Kinetix3 programming

N

Nick

I am new to modbus programming with RSLogix and would like some help on what instructions to use and where the input will come from... i.e. registers or files. I am trying to fully control a TLY-A230P-BJ64AA servo motor with a MicroLogix 1400 thrue a 2071-AP4 Kinetix 3 servo drive. I have all the info I could possibly need for the Modbus RTU protocol on the drive end, but have never programmed modbus controls within RSLogix 500 logic. What instructions do I use? (I'm assuming the MSG read/write command) and what or how do I use the files to send the commands? Examples from existing ladder programs would be helpful, due to the fact that I learn a lot easier thru example than explanation.

Thanks!

N

Nicholas Carnes

I have figured out modbus rtu... somewhat. And I have the motor moving. It homes perfectly but I'm am having issues with it beyond that. I am running it in 'INDEXING' mode. I have the commands and bits set up right. the indexing parameters are being set up by the keypad on the drive... for now.

The issues I am having is that the motor/drive seems to run wherever it wants. For examples:

1)I set index position parameters for IND 4.00 - 4.05 identically. I am running it in absolute positioning. But when I select by bit toggle each parameter and 'START INDEXING' the motor isn't doing what it should and remaining at that position.4.00 - 4.02 are the same. 4.03 - 4.04 are the same. 4.05 is way off in the opposite direction. again same position set point.