ModBus Compliance...

M

Matt Ferrari

I am new to ModBus and am developing a product which will have a ModBus interface on it. In order to be considered ModBus compliant:

1) Is there a required subset of Function Codes which MUST be supported, or may I only support the codes I choose to support, and return an exception response for the others?

2) My hardware won't have much buffering capacity. Is it ok to support only a limit size capacity for function codes such as 20 & 21 (Read/Write File Record), instead of the maximum possible size?

I will appreciate any guidance anyone can offer, thanks.

Matt

B
1) There is no required subset. You can do almost everything with function 03. Pack 16 flags into one register, then the master can read all in one read.

2) A limited read/write size is ok.

Best Regards,
Brian
http://www.modbustools.com

C

Curt Wuollet

From what I've seen, you already have what you need to advertise Modbus
compliance. Your product _will_ have a modbus interface on it :^). I'm
not sure there is any enforcement as I've seen as few as 3 functions
supported. It's kinda like calling Windows software open, apparently
the declaration alone is enough to avoid being sued for fraud.

Regards

cww

M

Matthew Hyatt

Though there is no requirement to support the Modbus protocol in any manner outside of some minimual function code, consider the impact to your customer. If you say you have a Modbus interface and the driver on their host cannot get the data required because you have implemented a very limited set of function codes, they will not be very thrilled, you will be called back to perform more programming that you may not be paid for or you may not be calld back at all, they will hire someone else to fix the problem(s) and you will not get a very good reference.