Modbus RTU with Grain Watch System

A

Archimedes

The background:

I am a student researcher attempting to build a grain monitoring system using the tools provided by Liros Electronic in their Grain Watch System (all of the documentation is available here: http://www.grain-watch.com/downloads.html), but without using their software, as the eventual goal is to use an Intel Galileo/Arduino as the master.

The materials:

I am using the EasySYNC ES-U-2101-M (http://www.easysync-ltd.com/search.php?phrase=es-u-2101-m) in order to connect to a PC running Modbus Poll as the master. The system uses a network controller (GWAB) and network switch (GWNET) to connect to temperature sensor cables (GWSL). Grain Watch implements Modbus RTU, although they don't meet the protocol requirements exactly due to some hardware limitations: (http://www.grain-watch.com/documents/GWABModbus.pdf).

The problem:

I am able to transmit a message from master to slave, but the response never comes; I always receive a timeout error. The Tx LED in the EasySYNC lights up, and the Rx LED in the GWAB lights up, but Modbus Poll never receives a response from the slave. I can see the hexadecimal message transmitted, but I don't get any information in return. I have tried a variety of address, and I have tried incrementing/decrementing the addresses, but I still receive timeout errors.

I have wired and re-wired the system (I am a computer science student, not an engineer, but I received some help from people with proper training), and there doesn't appear to be a problem in the physical wiring. I have tried reversing cables in order to see if that makes a difference, but nothing changes.