Moore APACS / Wonderware Integration

K

Kenneth Poteete

I am looking at doing an upgrade of an old Wonderware system that is connected to an existing Moore APACS DCS. The workstations are Windows 3.1, and the Wonderware is version 5. We need to go to WinXP Pro and Wonderware 9. I have a lot of experience with Wonderware, and I can handle the application conversion and any I/O driver configuration, but I understand that special hadrware is needed to interface Wonderware to APACS. Could someone fill in the blanks for me with some details, or direct me to a site that includes some information?

P

Pascal Poirier

"Moore" APACS DCS is now "Siemens" APACS+.
Wonderware HMI for APACS (APACS+ ProcessSuite) is now on the "Mature" list for Siemens. No new licence will be sold by the end of 2006 (i think...) and the support will end by 2010... Siemens is now pushing PCS 7/APACS+ OS.
You may have a look at Siemens APACS+ web site:
http://automation.usa.siemens.com/process/product/paapacs.html As you can contact Siemens technical service for your specific application.

Good luck,
Pascal

First you need the Module Bus Interface(MBI) or Module Net Interface(MNI)Card & the driver, migrate the cards from the old PCs to the new. The MBI/MNI cards come both in IESA & PCI, so you need to make sure the new PC has the correct slot connections. The Process Suite CDs contain Wonderware Intouch 7.11 and the drivers to connect to the APACS+ system (APACS API). Siemens Energy & Automation has purchased Moore Products and still sells the process suite software to uprade existing systems.

Good luck!

Siemens APACS can be talked to using Matrikons OPC server for APACS I have not used it but have spoken to others who say it is easier to work with than the Siemens APACS OPC server.

You can then use theOPCLink client from Wonderware to access the data from the Matrikon OPC server.

Good luck.

V

Vance Newman