Normal and Droop Mode on an "Island" Grid

M

Mikey15

Hello,

I am very new to this industry and I had a few questions regarding the equipment we have onboard here. I work on a steam ship that is equipped with five GE steam turbine generators and two emergency diesel generators made by ALCO. all generators are equipped with Woodward 2301 governors that are designed to operate with each other in both isochronous and droop mode. Part of my job onboard is to operate the distribution system via an analog board. The plant isn't very big in comparison with some of the examples that I've been reading about here, but I suppose it is a good start for me.

The turbine generators are rated at 4000 amps, 2500 Kw, and produce 450 volts at 60Hz. The diesels are slightly less at 3200 Amps, 2000 Kw, with 450 volts at 60Hz. All I do is maintain power on half the bus, which is split forward and aft. I know droop mode and isochronous mode have been beaten to death here, and I apologize for bringing it up again, but curiosity has gotten the better of me.