OPC data to a web page

B

BOB

I'm working on a project that involves reading data from a OPC server and sending this data to various applications.
One of the things we want to do is to run a webserver with webpages showing live data from this OPC server.

I'm a total newbie in webservers and webpages and would like to find a not-too-complicated while still affordable way of doing this.

All and any hints are appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob

C

Chris Deverill

It sounds like what you are after is an OPC client that serves up data using ASP or ASP.NET. There are quite a few systems out there that will allow you to web-enable OPC data. A fairly inexpensive one is Merz's Easy OPC:

http://www.merz-sw.com/opc/opc_easyopc.php3

If you are keen and want to learn some of the technology behind it you can always write your own (as I've been doing in my spare time) but the commercial products look pretty good.

Chris
http://www.procdev.com

Bob,

Have a look at WebDock's DataPort product with built-in webserver reports and graphs.

Eddie

J

Jon W. Brown

Probably the easiest way to put live OPC Data on a Web Server is using the ICONICS WebHMI Product. Pages are easily created with GraphWorX and then published to the Web Server as HTM documents with live OPC Dynamic Links. GraphWorX and WebHMI have lots of great features such as Layering, Display and Data Entry Points, Color Changes, Size Changes, Multifunction Buttons, and a complete User Modifiable Symbol Library. VB and JScripts are supported directly inside of the GraphWorX Display Configuration and Runtime Environments as well as in the published WebHMI pages. For more information contact me at [email protected] or visit http://www.iconics.com.

Jon Brown
ICONICS Strategic Accounts and Business Development

R