Operations of 2 diesel generators in off-grid system

R

Roberto Benedetti

Hello everyone,

First let me tell you I am not an engineer so please forgive me if my questions seem dumb to you...

Here's my problem.

I am considering building a minigrid for an isolated community. This off-grid system would be powered by two diesel generators of different sizes, in order to reduce diesel consumption.

One genset is 3kW, the other is 1kW. Both gensets cannot operate under 40% of their rated power to prevent excessive wear.

The isolated community requires very little electric power.
At night it will be at 0,3 kW
During the day, the load will be around 2 kW.
At peak hours, the load is 3,3 kW.

I have considered operating the gensets as follows:

- At night, the 1 kW gen runs alone at its lower limit : 0,4 kW (some energy is lost but it can't operate under this limit)

- During the day, the 3 kW genset will run alone at 2 kW

- At peak hours, both gensets will run and supply the load proportionally to their size:
The 1 kW genset will provide 1/(1+3)*3,3kW = 0,825 kW
The 2 kW genset will provide 3/(1+3)*3,3kW = 2,475 kW

This way, energy loss due to the 40% limit constraint is kept to a minimum.

Now the question is: is there a control system that can do this? Or am I completely fooling myself?

Thank you very much for you help!

Rob

Roberto Benedetti,

This could be automated with a control system, but there is nothing OTS ("off the shelf") to do this, with the possible exception of something the diesel generator manufacturer might make or sell. I venture that anyone selling you something that would allegedly do this doesn't know what they're talking about and couldn't--and wouldn't--support the product after the sale. Power plants and process plants pay hundreds of thousands of US Dollars, even more, for control systems that either don't work very well and/or are not operated properly (because of incorrect perceptions, poor implementation, and poor operator training).