Prints, Schematics, Drawings - What ever you choose to call them.

D

D. Plourde

I've been working in the motion control field for about eight years and have worked on many automation projects. I now find myself in a new job and faced with developing my own electrical prints for control systems for the first time. I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to the best resources to be studying in the way of print development, drawing standards and best practices. I'm not looking for a guide to control systems but the best way to convey the design of a control system to others.
Thanks,
Dave

P

Paul Dackermann

Dave:
No doubt, you have a witnessed a mixed bag of documentation. One reference document to use is the"NFPA 79 Electrical Standard for Industrial Machinery 2xxx Edition".
Excellent reference, and it covers the elementaries, PLC interconnects, and the panel elevations.
Process Flow Diagrams (PFD) and Piping and Instrument Diagrams are available through the ISA. Some documentation numbers to check are ISA s5.1 "Instrument Symbols and Identification", ISA s5.4"Instrument Loop Diagrams", and ISA s51.1"Standard Process Instrumentation Terminology".
I do not have the SAMA document number for the "SAMA Logics". Possibly someone else reviewing the post will mention it.
Interesting enough, there was a post over the last 2 to 3 months which mentioned some good reference. You might want to explore.
Designs at times are abberations of the above. However, the final documentation for the project; that is to say the "Drawings of Record" or the "
AS-Builts" should be true to the accepted Reference Documentation.
I neglected to mention most Equipment Manufacturers have depots of info on the websites which can be employed. many in AutoCad or MicroStation. Mostly AutoCad or PDF.
Personally, my designs incorporate P&ID's, ECD's and SAMA Logics. Heavily noted as well.
Hope this is of worth.
Good Luck!
Regards,
Paul Dackermann

B

Bob Peterson