programming problem using mscomm

A

Anonymous

hi

i am a student. i am using vb6 to get an agv running. using mscomm to speak to a main micro which then addresses motor boards. at present i am just testing 2 motors to see if the program will work. in my foward command button the code is as follows:

1 mscomm.output = "MOT1SPF1000"

2 for icount = 1 to 10
3 icount = icount +1
4 next icount

5 mscomm.output = "MOT2SPF1000"

(the string basically tells motor 1 to turn forward at speed 1000).

the motors work fine when addressed indivually
but since i added lines 2-5 only 1 motor spins and it doesnt stop.

please could someone advise me on how to correct the program?

thank you.

D

Davis Gentry

Did you set up the motor controllers to respond to
numbers 1 and 2, or perhaps the names MOT1 and MOT2, depending on the required nomenclature?

Another possibility is that the serial buffer is not getting cleared before you write the second command. What happens if you put the second command in a different button?

Davis Gentry

M

Michael Griffin

Lines 2 to 4 appear to be intended as a delay loop. With the speed of today's computers, I doubt that this one would really accomplish much. Try longer time delays using a "sleep" statement.

P.S. - Although the "for" loop has no place in this problem, read up on "for" and "while" loops as you seem unfamiliar with them. You are doing this one all wrong.

Every industrial protocol I have used will send a reply for every query or command. You are probably just talking on top of the first motor's reply by sending the next motor a command without waiting to read the reply from the first.