Renewable Energy by Gravity or Buoyancy?

P

PUP

as anyone spent time on these issues and have some info or insight on current designs and applications?

This is my first post, hence I came across some good reads on this forum I signed up, so greetings all!

I am not an engineer but I read and xperiment, and I heard of elevators in some Hong Kong buildings feed back power, and Holland is researching floating communities (complete with floating roads and bridges!) in case of freak tides from the Atlantic.

I did some homework and none of these seems to work on a small scale, also the control (mechanical) apparatus would be a nightmare to design, probaly. In this forum years back there was a thread on flywheel utilization - which I always considered great for harnessing energy from a freely dropping mass (no thight control needed lowering the mass). But how Buoyancy could be controlled?

I'm somewhat aware of the pityful efficiency issues, yet RE is just the question of money, generous estimates and scaling will any of this in any form could be viable? Since the mass is already there, and always must be there (roads, bridges, buildings, watertowers, parking garages) just how much is there to engineer for raising some multi-millions of tons a few feet every day by PV, and lowering them during the night?

I have no one to talk to about this, and a few engineers (or close to it) I asked so far just hummed for a while and said "Interesting".

Is there a forum this post would better be on than here, I hate to post to a wrong forums. Thx(PUP)

W

William Hinton

Half of your problem is very easy as there is a way to transfer any amount of water, lift it to any height and this method has been used to do this since the Roman times. The Archimedes Water Screw. The website is: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Archimedes_screw

I believe that Grundfos patented the design in the 1970s.

There are no magnitude issues with this, you can make as large or small as your application.