S7-300 - using SM332 2-output module

L

Lee Rehorn

I am a student in electrical engineering, and I am attempting to learn PLCs from scratch. I have completed the Siemens Level 1 training manual (on my own), and understand what is going on - to a degree. My boss wants me to hook up other devices to our S7-300s to control them, not just the provided conveyor model.

I have read over the SM332 manual, and now I am left wondering: what can possibly be driven by 10V and 20mA, which are the rated outputs of the SM332? What will I need to do to attach, say, a 1.2A, 24V motor to this unit (ie. will it be more difficult than making a voltage/current amplifier to stick onto the output before the motor)? What else will I need to configure on the PLC to get an external device to work? I mean, I guess I'll have to clear out the phyiscal connections currently in the SM332, but is there anything else soft- or hardware wise that must be done?

Thanks very much for any assistance,
Lee Rehorn

Z

Zan Von Flue

The S7 module (332) has to be installed in the hardware manager. In the hardware manager you can pick either the 10V or 20mA control signal with the OUTPUT tab (double click on module). This is only a control signal where 0V is 0% and 10V is 10% or 0(4mA) is 0% and 20mA is 100%. For the piece of equipement that needs to be controlled, it needs the correct input, either mA or Volts. If you could be alittle more exact on the type of motors to be controlled I could help you more.
Anyways Zan

T

T.P. Mungadze

Hie

To run a motor, you need to use a DIGITAL output card, and not an analogue one. Use the digital output to energise a contactor, which will have power supply to your motor. Hope this helps.

Taj

From your message I understand that you need a DC motor speed conntroller which has a 4-20ma analog signal as speed reference signal from PLC.
The controller is powered from a 24VDC.