Safety butterfly valve to shut off a penstock fl

Good evening everybody.

I’m an electrical engineer and I have a safety question regarding a safety butterfly valve that closes automatically after an excess flow detection.
I’m familiar with these systems and, if the valve does close, I think it’s mandatory that the reset is always a manual operation and performed at the valve premises.

I have a contractor that doesn’t agree with this approach and asks what regulation document supports our understanding.
What document should be followed?

Thanks for your help.

Carlos Melim

Boa noite,

Está bem?

If you're the Customer, your understanding is what the contractor must adhere to. If you have other facilities that are configured as you indicate, then that's your Company's requirement.

I have seen a very similar implementation for other power generators that are remotely operated. When a serious condition occurs a lock-out is latched and a site visit is required to investigate the issue before the latch can be reset and the unit re-started and put back in service. This is usually an OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) requirement, usually driven by warranty. I have seen some owners/operators which did away with this scheme; and I know of one site that "cratered"a machine because the problem wasn't properly identified "remotely" before restarting.