Safety Programming

S

Sebastian LaBella

Hello, my name is Sebastian LaBella. I am new to the control world and have a task in programming a Micro-logic1200 PLC. My designer designed a gage that measures parts for dimensional characteristics. When he purchased the pneumatic solenoid vavles for part up/down, slide in/out he bought detented solenoids. Pulse one side and the part moves down, pulse the other side and the
part moves up. I am starting to write the ladder logic for the manual mode and I cannot think of a way to get started. For safety reasons, to lower the part the operator is required to press a palm switch and the part lower button. His hands must stay on the switches untill the part is lowered into the nest. If his hands are removed before this operation is complete the part must come up.
Do you know of a circuit that I can use to program this type of feature?
I can be e-mailed at [email protected].
Thanks for your help.
Regards

Hello,

If I understood you right this logic should help
---| |--| |-O Latch a Bit with Inputs (switches)
---|\|--|\|---O Unlatch same bit with same Inputs

---| |--|\|----O If bit is latched and if Part isnt in its down postion then
run move pulse solenoid down.
---|\|--|\|----O If Bit is unlatched and if part isnt in up postion then
pulse solenoid UP.

G

Guy H. Looney

Sebastian,

No fancy circuitry needed for this. I'm not familiar with the phrase "detented solenoids", but it sounds like you've got two-position valves and I hope that at least the vertical one is fixed position (as opposed to center exhaust). For my explanation, I'm gonna assume that you're using 110VAC valves and the PLC outputs are switching voltage.