Scada System with S7-300 PLCs

L

Luca

I've been asked to network three existing Siemens S7-300 PLCs in order to collect and publish some data in a new Scada System (I've not decided yet which software to use)
Actually the three PLCs are stand-alone, each one connected with a Siemens OP7 Panel Operator:
1) CPU-314 -> OP7
2) CPU-314 -> OP7
3) CPU-313C -> OP7

At the moment I don't know exactly the distances between the PLCs and the future Scada Server, but I think they will be about 300-400m far from the PC.

There could be the possibility to expand the system in the future, adding 4-5 new Siemens PLCs. The network should be used for data collection only, but I think it should be better to use a bus which can also be used for Remote I/O.

I'm a novice in the Siemens world and I'm studying hard the manuals, brochures etc. At the moment I think that a Profibus Network should be the right choice for the required goal but I'd like to hear from the experts what is their opinion, and I have some doubts:

1) Do I need to program the CPUs in order to communicate with the Scada Server?
2) Do I need to program the Op7 Panels in order to let it continue to communicate with the PLC?

Thank you,
Luca

1- No you don't need to write program for scada communication.
2- No you don't need to write program for OP communication.

i suggest to buy profibus cards for remote IO and scada communication if you have chance. Good luck.

D

Daniel Chartier

Hello Luca;

Profibus sounds good for your application, although Ethernet could also be applied. For Profibus, you will need to consider a few points:

1) between 200m and 400m of bus length, maximum speed for the network will be 500 kBaud.