Simple query in Matlab

P

Pavel

Hi! I am completely new to this stuff so please don't yell at me because of my stupid question.

I am trying to read a value from a pressure Controller (West, 6100+) connected to my Computer via r232 using an ascii query implemented in Matlab.

Whenever I send my request ('L01M?*') i get the correct answer, although there's also a timeout warning ('Warning : A Timeout occurred before the terminator was reached') The problem is that I need continuous readings of at least 2 per sec. With the Ascii implementation I only get one value every 2 seconds.

I read somewhere that with ascii communication it can take up to 1 sec for a message, so i guess i will have to do it in Modbus/RTU (supported by the controller) but I have no Idea how to even start.

Ok, I know, the principle is simple but how can I send a binary message to my slave? Maybe I am just blacking out, but since I found some (very expensive) commercial Java-libraries, I guess it is not that simple after all.

What bugs is that I only want to read out this one value over and over, so I do not have to bother about all the fancy gizmos this commercial products offer, I don't even have to calculate CRC values since they will be constant.

Can somebody give me a hint where to start looking at? I don't want anybody to do my job (sooner or later i will have to learn how to do it anyway ;-p)just a little hint would be cool.

Thanks in advance,

Pavel

P.S. Don't tell my boss I asked - he still thinks i am an expert on this sort of stuff ;-)

I've run into some of those stand alone PID controllers that can not handle fast (meaning multiple reads per second) via Modbus RTU comm, even though they can handle once per second updates.

Before you do a whole project, you might want to check with West and ask if the 6100 can handle 2 RTU queries per second.