Stability and Drift

M

Muti

I am studying static and dynamic characteristics of instrument/ sensor these days since many term are used interchangeably so this create confusion. The best thing is to stick to definition given in ISA standards. Now I two terms for which ISA standard had given separate definition. May be due to my weak English I could not differentiate between them. Can you kindly help me?
The terms are Drift and Stability.

drift

1. An undesired change in output over a period of time, where the change is unrelated to the input, environment, or load. See ANSI/ISA-S51.1-1979 (R1993). [ISARP67.04.01-2000.ISA-RP67.04.02-2000]

2. An undesired change in the output/input relationship over time. [ANSI/ISA-75.05.01-2000] 3. An undesired change in output overtime that is not a function of the measurement.[ISA-37.1-1975 (1992)]

3. Drift is usually expressed as the change in output over a specified time with fixed input and operation conditions. It is usually used in the context of analog transducers, analyzers, and so on.

stability

1. The ability of a transducer to retain its performance characteristics for a relatively long period of time. Note: Unless otherwise stated, stability is the ability of a transducer to reproduce output readings obtained during its original calibration, at room conditions, for a specified period of time. It is then typically expressed as "within [number] percent of full scale output for a period of [number] months." [ISA-37.1-1975 (R1982)]

2. In data processing, a measure of the ability of a device to maintain constant volumes for one or more parameters that describe its operation. [ISA-RP55.1-1975(R1983)]

3. Freedom from undesirable deviation.

4. A measure of the controllability of a process.