Tank Level Measurement

D

DASH

How do you decide what will be the HH, H. LL and L Alarm points in Tank Gauging. Let say for example I have a 2 meter open tank with a liquid of 0.8 SG. Normal operating level will be 700mm... Is there a standard guidelines for this? how about RANGE of transmitter that will be use? Any standard also?

Thanks! I am new with engineering dept. so I need you guys...

D

David Ferguson

I do not know of a "standard" we usually go with low low 5%, low 10%, hi 90% and hihi 95% but it depends on your process. If it is an issue to have an overflow at 75% then you better warn before then..............

Dave Ferguson
Process Control Engineer

Before deciding the RANGE, you need to choose the HH and LL points, since the RANGE must encompass those points. For the tank described, I would typically go with a low range limit of 0 or 100 mm below the LL setting (whichever is greater) and a high range limit of 2000 mm or 100 mm above the HH setting (whichever is less).

The HH setting should be the maximum level you can withstand before tripping the supply to the tank to prevent overflow.
The LL setting should typically be the minimum level you can withstand before tripping the pump9s) draining the tank to avoid cavitation in those pump(s).

The H and L points should typically be chosen to give an operator ample time to take corrective action to avoid hitting the HH or LL points, while also minimizing nuisance alarms.
Blindly choosing alarm settings based on tank dimensions should be avoided.

This assumes the tank was sized properly to begin with.

B

Bruce Durdle