Transmission of RS232 serial data of Fire Alarm to MODBUS

A

Albert Leng

I have a project which i need to capture serial data using RS232 from fire alarms which the fire alarms have different status like RESET, Technical Alarm, Fire or POWER FAILURE, for e.g. RESET is 60H followed by 3 hexadecimal bytes.

My task is to map all the different fire alarm serial data to MODBUS addresses using Visual Basic VB.

The information i'm given is each serial data is to be mapped to MODBUS addresses like 30000.1. I'm clueless about this. I have read through MODBUS document but what in it is just things like data format, MODBUS/RTU, parity, CRC and other things which i find not directly relevant to my task.

Since i'm a newbie, can anyone give me some clues what it's all about? Or any technical resources which i can read?
Or, some sample codes which anyone is kind enough to send to my email [email protected]?

Any help is appreciated.

Have you read the MODBUS Application Protocol Specification? This document explains the different MODBUS application commands. They deal with coils and register, so you will have to "map" those concepts to the ones relevant to your application.

Do not miss the Encapsulated Interface Transport function code, that can be helpful when mapping to coils and registers is not possible.

Regards.

T
You can use a controller like a WAGO 750-816 or -815 PLC with a serial module. The Serial module can poll the fire alarms and bring the data to the programmable controller. This data can be mapped to registers. The VB application would read the Modbus registers. Since it is RS-232 this would require a serial module for each fire alarm.

Thanks for your reply.

My VB project actually just acts as a MODBUS RTU Slave. It will receive data via RS232 from Fire Alarm, for e.g.
1) RESET is 1C 85 19 A1 54
2) FIRE AT ZONE 1 is 1C 28 18 13 54