Variable Speed Drive Output

R

Robert Machetto

I'm an electrical designer interviewing for a job through a staffing company. The hiring company says I have to answer seven control questions before I can interview. Six of the questions were a snap - the seventh was "What output voltage would you expect on a 460VAC VFD running in a linear mode at half speed" -- (also voltage in a squared mode). Any experts out there?

460 volts. (Except at the instant of startup). Motor speed is a function of frequency, not voltage.

Robert;
I've been a drives technician for nine years and have some experties here. A 460v ac drive in a linear mode will give you 7.66v per Hz if you do the math at half speed "30hz" your voltage will be 230v. Now If you use a digital meter even a true RMS model you'll read about 310v. If you use a analog meter like a simpson you'll get a better reading. The digital reads the peaks.
With the drive in a squared mode the voltage will be consideably less. It's function is to produce less voltage when the motor does not need it. Usually in the pump or fan curve where it does'nt produce enough flow and the load is reduced.

H

Hakan Ozevin

In linear mode 230 V, in quadratic mode 460/4=115 V. Although the speed of the motor is dependent on the frequency, not voltage, VFD's decrease the voltage as well. The reason can be explained as follows:

For a constant torque load, the power demand of the load decreases by the speed. So if you decrease the frequency, but not the voltage linearly, the rest of the power will be dissipated as heat in the motor- we call this the motor is saturated (which we dont want).