Where can I purchase a Linear Motion Device

C

Colin Yoder

Hi,
I'm a student and I'm kinda new to this so I'm lookin for some help. I'm building a machine that will take a shaft/motor (the motor is long and cylindrical) and need to rotate it up and down about a central point.
I was thinking that I could use some type of linear actuator to do this. I need this to move the motor up and down about 10 cm on average, but up to around 20 cm. It should also be able to handle and average weight of 3 lbs, but up to around 10 (although this point will probably never be reached).
I've found some things but not within my price range (up to $300) and was just wondering where I might be able to find new or used equipment to build this. Any help is greatly appreciated, and thank you in advance.

Colin Yoder

Answer:

Make an elongated electromagnet with a center metalic bar serving as aguide and also as a nucleus.

You can control the movement in both senses.

Experiment my friend

Keep it simple.

Look at the following vendors. It will depend on what you need for accuracy & repeatability, speeds, and environment to choose what will work best for you.

1. Aerotech - That's Me! :)
2. Parker Daedal
3. Tol-O-Matic
4. Bishop-Wisecarver
5. THK
6. Thomson
7. Warner Linear
..... there are tons more I could list

If you post more about what your trying to do, I could help you narrow down your search.

Cameron Anderson
Aerotech, Inc - www.aerotech.com
St. Paul, MN

"Dedicated to the Science of Motion"

C
Cameron,
I think getting help narrowing the search would be very helpful. I've been able to find many sites/products, but am pretty confused as to how to sort through the stuff.