Wonderware DDE server for Unico

A

Anthony Kerstens

We have Unico 68000 systems on four of our cut-to-length press lines, with Macintosh displays. I would like to investigate the possibilities in
replacing these aging Macs with more up-to-date HMI's.

In particular, I am interested in Wonderware, with which I have six years experience in a development environment. Since our budget is tight, the initial prototypes will have to be developed in-house, and unfortunately limited in functionality. However, I am hoping an initial prototype will whet appetites and open eyes as to the range of possibilities. Any nformation/advice on interfacing with Unico systems would be appreciated.

Anthony Kerstens P.Eng.

J

Johnson Lukose

This is a first time I have heard of Macs as SCADA PCs in an industrial environment. Are there any other examples? Was it for some specific reason that a PC based system could not do?

thanks.

D

Douglas Roth

My suspicion is you'll need to write message handling to conform with whatever protocol the Unico drive is using. The drive should have a RS232 or ethernet port with a defined protocol and message structure. You'll need this to write the parser on your new HMI end. I suspect you
don't want to invite Unico back in to write additional code for their 68000. So you can use Wonderware and build your own communication interface and message parser. Another approach, if the money is tight, is use VB or Delphi or some quick GUI builder with an integrated
Serial Comm or Winsocket object. No runtime.

~Douglas Roth

A

Anthony Kerstens

The macs in this particular application are not what you would call SCADA systems. There merely display setpoints and operating parameters, with a small amount of recipe management. They are the BANE of my existence. I would love nothing better than to rip them out.