SLC 5\04 RS232 communication

M

Maina

Hi, I am new to the slc series of Allen Bradley SLCs. I have tried to communicate to a new SLC5/04 using the RS232c port on it using its CP7 programming cable. The communication software is RSlinx Ver 2.1.

After running the Autoconfigure in the Rslinx new channell addition wizard window, I get an error message telling me to check the cables and switch settings. On observing the proccessor physically, there are no switches to be set.

Is there any other hardware or software to enable me to set it for communication ?.
The proccessor is an SLC 5/04-543-64K ,clean out of the box state. I have mounted it a 13 slot rack powered by a P4 Power supply.
My slot usage is 8 slots DI (1-8) 3 slots DO(9-11) and finaly Slot 13 is an 8 channel analogue input card.

There could be several things with this communication problem. You may have the wrong Baud rate set for your driver vs. the default baud rate for the processor, but you said you attempted to autoconfig. in Linx, so that should have selected the proper baud rate for you. I am not familiar with the CP7 cable, just insure that it is a null modem style (pin wires 2&3 crossed) with DB9 plugs. The cable might be bad or lastly, the backplane on the rack could be bad and will prevent proper communications. Another method to communicate would be to use a PCMK card in your laptop with a PCM5 cable w/adapter to channel 0 on your processor, although the cost of these cards is quite high.

I hope you mean a CP3 cable.

Are you setup with the DF1 driver on the correct
comm port?

Make sure you do not have a PIC driver also running on that same comm port.

You could always try a new version of RSLinx. (I'm running 2.40.01)

-mjv

On the rare occasion I have seen SLC processors in an "out-of-the-box" state behave identical to your description. Try clearing the memory.
Shut down power. Remove the CPU from the chassis.